For those who emigrated. Your thoughts?

Guest cgms310

Guest cgms310

As an ex PAT from the UK to America and now Canada, I have to ask a question of those who read this forum and have lived in Australia for more than say 10 years.

Do you EVER regret leaving your homeland?

I do not want this to seem like a heartless question, but I have to tell you my own story as I have been questioning myself for over 25 years now!

While I was living in England, I was a founder member of Ryanair the second Irish airline!

In the early days I would commute back and forth between the UK and Ireland to see my four kids (I was divorced) and often got to chat with the passengers, as the planes were quite small in the early days!

One conversation I will never forget was to be sitting next to an Irishman who was flying back from Australia via London for the first time to see his family after being away 20 years.

I exchanged with him the news that I too was about to emigrate to America and asked him if he had any regrets leaving Ireland and his family. He replied:

Every day!:sad:

My heart sank and I have to say that after 25 years in North America and even though I travel back to England every 6 to 12 months for a visit, I feel as if I should have perhaps stayed and tried harder to make a go of it in England, instead of uprooting myself and going to live in New York City!

Have I had a great life, yes. Have I been able to give my family more than if I stayed, perhaps, but I missed watching my family grow up and now I miss weekends with my five grandchildren..... It's tough!

I recently married a younger woman who is an angel, but is 100% Canadian and has no desire to live in Europe!

I would appreciate your candid commentary and responses.

Thank you,

Charles :cool:

Guest graandjac