Skills assessment, confused big time

Guest fishes20

Guest fishes20

Hi All

I cannot find my trade on the TRA website and when I emailed them they refered me back to the DIAC ( who I am waiting to hear from, 3 days and counting) does absolutely everyone need a skills assessment to progress or with me not being able to find anything on the DIAC website or the TRA which it states deals with this trade, do I simply not require one. As the title suggests I am confused.

I am a Print Machinist, which is on the SSML but I cant get any further, hope this makes sense.

Jase and vicky

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am also a printer and yes, I had to do a skills assessment last year. If you have no official printing qualifications, you will need to be assessed. I have been offered a job and are lucky enough to be getting in on an employer sponser. I now have the equivilent to an Australian print qualification, but you can only get this if you are assessed by an Australian Print College. You wont get in without it, job or no job.

Want type of printing do you do and on want kit.

Guest fishes20

Hi Tizzer

Thanks for the quick reply.

I am a Lithographic Printer, I have always worked in Carton printing and have spent the last 8 years as a number one on Komori's, 40 inch 6 colour and coater.

Who did your assessment and at what cost, if you dont mind me asking

thanks Jase

Hi Jase,

I work on a 12 colour Heidelberg perfecter and have been printing for 15 years.

Had to do the assessment with Print Training Australia. It was all arranged by a company in Harpenden, Hertfordshire. They are called Australian Skills Assessment and the number is 0800 881 8457. Ask to speak to Allan.

You have to do a boat load of paperwork....all standard stuff and then if you pass the written stage, you have to do an on line interview with print training Australia.

Have you spoken to a Visa agent yet.

Guest fishes20

Hi Tizzer