Police Training help

Guest Elliot-Ross

Guest Elliot-Ross

Hi, I am a 17 year old who currently lives in Britain, I am currently studying at school but when I leave I aim to move to Australia.

I would love to join the police force but don't know how...

Do the police force in Australia sponsor people to train to be an officer? And if they do, do you get paid for this or can you get a job?

How often do the academy take on people

If they do sponsor how do you get in contact with them as I cannot tell by looking on the websites?

Also Is it true if you get sponsored you can get a visa more easily? And what sort of visa would I need

Thanks

Elliot

Guest Elliot-Ross

Hi thanks for the link, the problem is it dosent say anything about visas, or anything for People abroad. Thanks for it anyway but any information from people who have done this or people in the force would be fantastic!

Hi, we were out in Adelaide Sept 2010 and went to one of the recruitment seminars at the academy. From what they were saying the last recruitment drive from the UK was 2008/2009 and they weren't planning any in the near future, but if they did they are after fully qualified Police officers anyway(i might be wrong there). You need to have a permanent residents visa to apply once you are in Adelaide to join their force.

Andrew.

Guest mark&rachel

To be a SAPOL copper you either need to be sponsered on the migration recruitment campaign that went on for 5 years or so but that was only serving coppers with 4 years or more experience.

They dont take you otherwise unless you are a citizen or permanent resident here.

They dont sponser you to train or anything like that. Sorry mate but maybe try get into country another way and then join up.

Hi Elliot,

the last recruitment from the uk was indeed 2008/09 and officer had to have at least 5 years in ( after their probation). This was the last batch of officers from a 5 year process.