Agent??

Guest pixie7

Hi

Im new to this site so hello all!

Just wondered if you wise peoople had any advice.

I'm a Primary School Teacher and we are about to start my skills assessment and I'm booking my IELTS. (I think the general one is ok- right?)

We're undecided whether to use an agent or not- any advice?

I'm thinking of doing skills assessment and SS form on our own but not sure about visa? I think our case is fairly straight forwards (no kids/convictions/medical issues) we are de facto though...

Anyone got any experiences good or bad to share??

Anyone else in the same postition as us?

Thanks

For many, I'd say the skills assessment is the trickiest part, so if you do that bit unaided and your circumstances aren't complicated (and they don't seem to be) then there's no reason not to do the whole thing yourself.

We didn't use an agent, partly because it all seemed straightforward enough (it was) and partly because we spoke initially to three agents and got conflicting advice that didn't fill us with confidence.

All the info you need to complete an application is available online and there are a lot of people who've been through the process to ask, so why not go for it?

Of course some people find the reassurance of using an agent to be money well spent, or their cases are problematic and require expert help; for us, though, it was an expense we felt we didn't need.

Good luck

Jim

Thanks Jim,

Yeah for me the skills assessment doesnt look too hard- references and transcripts of my courses and id documents- I thought I'd have to chance all that up anyway so why pay an agent!?

I think if that all goes well I'll do the visa app alone- not sure I can justify the cash- I think i'm going to be controlling and obsessed anyway so would probably drive an agent mad- hee hee!

Good to hear you have gone it alone and all is well!! U in Adelaide?

Thanks

Hi

Im new to this site so hello all!

Just wondered if you wise peoople had any advice.