Primary Teacher registration

Guest pixie7

Hi

I'm right at the beginning of the long immigration journey- only just sorting my skills assessment documents out and booking IELTS. :daydreaming:

But I can help dreaming and (googling!) about when we get there. I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience of registering as a Primary Teacher in SA and what the process involves and how long it took before you could work?

I would love to be looking for a job before we go out there but I'm not sure if this is realistic- as I know I need to register first and I think I have to do this in person??

Any info/experiences appreciated

Pixie x

Guest BigSmiles

I'm a secondary teacher. Not got my quals assessed and registered yet as we are going in through OH's qualifications. From other posts I have seen it looks pretty straight forward, but you must show that you have done more than 80 hrs worth of classroom teaching during your training year, I know that they are really strict on that issue! Can't say how long it takes, try using the search button here, there's loads of info :)

I'm with you on the dreaming...it's a very exciting time isn't it. Best of luck with everything xx

Guest tpgc03

Hi Pixie, I am a primary school teacher and I am awaiting my certificate from the teaching board (teacher registration), fingers crossed it should be here this week. I started the pocess just after we arrived in November of last year. I have met other teachers over here in SA and they had their qualification assessed (step 1) in the UK and were ready to do their First Aid and Mandatory first week on arrival and get their teacher reg done fairly quickly.

The assessment of your teaching qual can be done from the UK, to be honest I would have loved to have been in a position to do that, however, everything happened so quickly in the end for us in terms of getting our 176 visa and shipping our effects. The assessment of my PGCE went on the back burner so to speak.