Have a Criminal Record: but are now training to be a Nurse.

Guest NicNox

Guest NicNox

Hello Everybody........Hope everyone is well :o

My name is Nicola and I am 26 years old from Surrey (originally from Hertfordshire), and I am currently in my 2nd year of studying to become a Nurse.

When I was 18 (June 2003, 8 years ago): I was arrested and convicted of Theft and subslequently have a criminal record. When I was 24 I decided to sort my life out and train to be a Nurse, which I am thoroughly enjoying, with the hope of emigrating Down Under as this has been an ambition since childhood. I hope to qualify as a Nurse in July 2012 (27 years of age).

My question is that: even though I will be a qualified Nurse (fingerscrossed) will my criminal record discount that out and I will I be granted entrance to Australia? Also, what do people know about Graduate Nursing Programmes? I understand that the Royal Adelaide offers this and just wondered what people's opinion on them would be.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to receiving any advice given. :D

Kind Regards

Nicola (Nic)

x

Just make sure you declare any warnings, cautions and convictions and give an account of them and how things are different for you now.

It may help to get your police check done before your application. That way you know exactly what is on there.

However, if you submit your application with the police check, the visa will be given from 12 months from that date.

Check out the character requirements on the DIAC site and you'll probably find you will be OK.

All the best!

As other posters have said just declare everyhting dnt hide anything, cos there is nithing worse than having them decline your visa application....be up front even do a letter explainging what happened and how you have turned your life around.

Good luck with it all, keep us posted and hopefully we will see youu on the bottom end soon..

HG