Same sex couple with 175 visa...HELP!!!

Guest claireoc

Guest claireoc

Hey there...

this is my first time on here so hello

Quick summary of my position...I had a 175 visa granted in July 2010, I'm in a civil partnership and my partner, Michelle, is included on my visa.

I'm 33 and have always wanted to start a family..we've looked into options here in the UK and its very doable at a clinic so we were going to try for me to get pregnant.

Before we did I thought I'd look into our options regarding the visa etc

It seems if we have a baby over here we'd have to apply for a separate visa for the baby after they were born which can be time consuming and expensive..is this right?

Alternatively we could get pregnant here and go to Oz and I could have the baby there? Am I right in thinking the baby is then an Aussie citizen? That would be fine...but over here if we go through a clinic both our names go on the birth certificate..would that be the case in Oz? And if not are there any alternative to give my partner legal rights?

Option 3 is to wait and go to a clinic in Oz when we get there to look into getting pregnant...however I understand that the laws are not the same in all states..we were looking at Adelaide as our starting point? Would we as a same sex couple get access to fertility services in SA? I understand we'd have to pay, thats only the same as here.

Apologies for this being a long one..We're hoping to move to Oz ASAP but selling our house is keeping us back and now we feel all confused over all this.

Please help!!!!

Thanks, Claire:arghh:

Guest guest4504