SA SS Questions

aliogilvie

Hi all

I have been searching for answers on old threads but cannot find a definitive answer to my specific queries so I wondered if I could pick your wonderful brains!

Firstly, I have just (23/08) submitted skills assessment to VETASSESS for Program or Project Administrator, I am hopeful of getting this back as positive because I have an MBA and PRINCE2, the problem is that I currently work as a Project Manager (i.e. at a higher level than this kind of post) within public sector, will that count against me? I can't seem to find anything which states if being 'overqualified' or experienced at a higher level goes against you. I am just hoping that as I am clearly capable of doing that post I will be ok, anyone got any thoughts on this?

Secondly, can I put the SA SS application in before I get the skills assessment back? I am worried about the availability of this occupcation changing while I wait and it seems like some people do apply in advance of receiving the same, from what I can see it is going to take 8-12 weeks to get the Skills Assessment back, I turn 33 on 31st Dec (about 18 weeks away) and I am thinkng about the impact that will have on my points assessment - which I believe is at full DIAC app stage rather than SS. Just wondering what the chances are of getting through Skills Assess and SS is so that I can lodge full app before my birthday!

Any thoughts or comments much appreciated, finding everything ahead of us so daunting but this forum is a source of much inspiration and support.

Ali

Guest helene73

Hi :)

You need to have a positive skills assessment to apply for SS.

I would wait the other people who have applied may have had their skills assessments due back around the time they applied for their SS so would have been able to send all the evidence they require.