Help required!

Guest Weekaty

Hi

I posted this on the Welcome section too but I think it maybe belongs here!

My husband and I (28/25) are seriously considering making the move to Adelaide in the near future to follow my brother, his wife and our niece, who made the move in July this year (and we have separation anxiety already!)

I am currently a high school English teacher (on my 3rd year) and my husband is an implementation manager for a scientific procurement company. We both have degrees and I have a postgrad in teaching and am starting CIPD in coaching and development.

We were wondering:

A) would we secure permanent working visas

B) the likelihood of us securing work when we arrived

C) In an ideal world I'd love to have a job prior to arriving; do schools sponsor overseas teachers or do they prefer it if you are in the country before offering work?

We were also wondering whether the working holiday visa would be a valid option. Is there any way this could turn into a permanent visa should the companies we're working for offer sponsorship??

Thanks

Kate

Guest Adelaide_bound

Hiya :)

I'm afraid I don't know anything about implementation managers, so don't know if that could get you a visa or what prospects are in Australia, but the teaching thing I can sort of help with :) Check the SOL to see if your husbands job is on it, and then the SMPs to see if he is any of them. SOL : http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/_pdf/sol-schedule1.pdf

a) English Secondary teachers, who aren't in Australia/have a job in Australia already, are only eligible for a 175 (last time I checked - I don't know if any of the states have changed their SMPs to include English teachers as well as STEM subjects - so check them all out for the latest updates). That just means it would take a little longer than the 176 visa. Times for allocation of a Case Officer for different visas:http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/estimated-allocation-times.htm