• Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Desperately seeking Adelaide

Desperately seeking Adelaide

Hi all

I'm really hoping someone can help.

My husband and I are close to making THE decision. We're weighing up all the pros and cons and, at the moment, Adelaide is winning over our current life in Glasgow.

I am an English Teacher (3 years) and my husband works in purchasing/procurement. We are both in our 20s and are desperate to make the move for a number of reasons (not least my brother and his family moved out in July this year and we miss them terribly) and we were wondering how realistic our plan is.

WIll I be able to secure work before I arrive? His occupation isn't on the skills list so he'll be on my visa. Will this make it more difficult for him to secure a job before arriving?

I know that I have to have my qualifications verified before I can actually look for work (and complete the mandatory training courses). What are the chances of me getting on the supply list for Adelaide or, even better, actually getting a long term temp/perm teaching job before, or as i arrive? I am currently working in a private Catholic school and I'm hoping this makes me more of an attractive choice for the private schools in Adelaide.

Also, if teaching wasn't a viable option, what other jobs would be available for me? I don't mind a change of career into training delivery, education officer etc.

FInally (I promise), if we were to make the move, how much money would you suggest is needed to get settled? I'd imagine we'd rent a furnished house but how much money would we need to remain comfortable if work wasn't forthcoming?

Thanks in advance for your replies; I think it's important to know all of our options before committing to the incredibly expensive Visa process.

Whatb you waiting for....?...Go for it..!!!!! Enough said..x
      HEAPS GOOD !!! likes this.

1423 times