Aaarggh!! Please help!

Guest joseph1801

Guest joseph1801

Hi all,

I've had an email from my CO saying she thinks I dont meet the points total.

She has awarded me 10 points for education but I have a BA(Hons) degree - although it is not related to my chosen occupation (I have a skills assessment as a network administrator and my degree is in history). I understood you got 15 points for a degree regardless. I have emailed this info but not had a reply yet.

Can anyone help/advise?

Thanks

Hello Joseph1801

i had a similar situation with my application last week, where they miscalculated my points, which led to me scoring only 60 points and getting a refusal notice.

after finding out they had miscalculated i raised the issue with my CO and they acknowledged the oversight and my application is back on track again.

best thing for you to do is the wait for your CO's reply and also talk to people who have applied who have similar circumstances to yours

To claim points for a qualification obtained overseas, the qualification will need to be recognised as being of a standard comparable to the relevant Australian level qualification

An applicant may also be able to claim points for a qualification not related to their nominated occupation, for example they may hold a trade qualification related to their nominated occupation and an unrelated Bachelor degree. If the assessing authority conducting their skills assessment cannot provide an opinion on the non related qualification, applicants should contact the Vocational Education Training and Assessment Services (VETASSESS). VETASSESS is the national assessing authority for a broad range of management, administration, professional and associate professional occupations.

from what i can gather you may need to get your degree assessed to show that it is standard to an Australian degree.

best of luck

kamalg

Guest joseph1801

Hi kamalg