• Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: shipping goods

shipping goods

hopfully in final stages of visa application and started to look into shipping,thinking we are going to need a 20foot container. And after being advised to make full use of it, i am thinking of taking things such as tools,motorcylce,trailer,lawnmowers,strimmers etc.Can anyone advise me on the process of cleaning these items to meet the standards of AU customs :?: Could do with keeping the cost of things down by doing things myself i.e oil/fuel removal and thorough steam clean :?: or would i need papers to say this has been done professionaly.
      happy packing :D
      hope to be on the sunny side soon Rob

dp n dd

just a quick reply cos i'm no expert,

we had a couple of quotes last year, they said that to take a bike
      - I am! - or similar, you need a pro steam clean & a certificate.
      AU customs can still get it re-done and charge you if they think its not good enough.
      I'm taking all my trade tools an am gonna risk just giving them a
      mega 200 bar blast at work :)
      they also said you can't take any organic material such as ornamental wood or stones etc. - like twig bunches from ikea etc :lol:

cheers then P & J

Hi Rob

We are also taking trade tools and machinery so giving them a good blast before packing.

Regarding your garden mower and strimmer I would not worry about taking them as they have to be thoroughly cleaned (as in not one blade of grass :roll: ) and every shipper we had in for a quote said they would be flagged up for inspection straight away by customs so we are leaving ours behind.

one tip - get lots of quotes!! We had 6 companies in and the price for sole use of 20 ft varied from 3700 to 6250 :shock:

Also haggle - the company we are going with were not the cheapest but did come down to match a lower quote and also dropped to 2% for insurance so we saved over 850 from their original quote :lol:

Sorry to be such an idiot really