new law in 2012

Guest anzolemi

Guest anzolemi

Hi Guy's,

Does anyone know how the new law in july 2012 is going to affect the 176 Visa, I am worried I am going to miss the cut off date for state sponsership on the 25th May due to the post delaying my letter of confirmation on my skills assessment.

So now I am wondering should I stick with the 176 visa and apply in July under the new Law or should I apply for the 175 visa now under the current law?

I am a mental health nurse with enough points for either visa, but the main thing is we would really love to be out in Oz for Jan 2013.

Any advice would be great. Thanks

Hi, I am no expert on visa's as we used an agent to get ours, but my understanding is that from July 1st they are introducing skillselect, this means you will have to fill out an expression of interest and then wait to be invited to apply for visa. Skillselect will also be a way of states addressing regional skills shortages, so you may have to agree to live in regional area for a period to obtain visa from July 1st. Don't know what stage your at, but you will need to put completed application in before July 1st, not start the process by, theres an awful lot of paperwork to do before application. If you know for sure you have points for 175 visa, my advice would be go for it now. Not sure why you would be going down 176 route, as this is for people who need sponsorship to gain more points. I'm confident someone on here will correct me if I'm wrong, they usually do lol. Good luck.

Guest anzolemi

Thanks, for that. The reason we thought we do the 176 was purely cause it was quicker and we were planning on going to Adelaide anyway so didn't think it made any difference.

Do you know how long the 175 visa's take?? and is it basically the same paperwork as the 176?