Move October 2014 or wait until January2014 ??

apple

Hi All, We are trying to decide if it would be better to get a move on and fly to Adelaide in October/November this year or move in the new year. I have read mixed reports about the labour market. I am concerned that Adelaide might be "closed for business" from a recruitment and employment point of view in November and December. Is this urban myth? I am a community nurse and my husband is a IT project/service delivery manager. any advice appreciated.:smile:

Every agency I spoke too said that the job market does go quiet around that time, and my fellow IT work mates say the same. If you are worried about delaying and then having to pay lots in rental - try looking up the Aussie House Sitting websites - we got lucky with two house sits when we came over.

It is not an urban myth. Nov, Dec and Jan are generally the quietest times to look for work. Even ‘Christmas’ work will usually have all been recruited for by this time.

I worked in one job a few years ago and finished on 8 Decand didn’t start another contract until 2 Feb (I think it was). I am working on a contract at the moment thatis due to finish at the end of November. I will make financial provision to cover me in Dec and Jan because if my contract is not extended again, the likelihood is I will not secure work for those 2 months.

It is really your choice whether you come Oct or Jan. As a guide the average time at the moment itis taking to secure is 3 months, see this post if you haven’t seen it before

http://www.pomsinadelaide.com/forum/jobs-careers/38765-statistics-time-its-taking-find-job-australia.html ,so you might want to get yourself settled in and start applying or wait till the new year, but then in Jan depending on how long it takes you to secure work it will then slow down again over the Easter period.