offer received for 489 advice needed

Guest tintre

Guest tintre

hi everyone im in need of a little advice if possible, firstly i am a nurse with 18 months experience turning 40 in June. My partner is also a nurse but overseas qualified and not worked as that for over 3 years now, currently working in security but wanting to work in the police or prison service over there.

Currently i have 50 points losing 10 in June due to age change, but due to the offer of sponsorship i now have 60. however i was wanting to go for PR and due to resit ielts for the 4th time tomorrow. I have overall 8 band but keep failing scoring 7.5 in one or another section hence only 10 points.

The offer of sponsorship came through quicker than expected but over the moon. If i score 8s in all four sections on ielts (and it is a big IF) WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

apply for sponsorship or take the risk of not accepting it and apply for PR therefore losing the offer and risking sitting and waiting to be picked from DIAC. I am so nervous as i said beforei have less than 12 weeks before i turn 40 arghhhhh so confused and dont want to put myself in a difficult situation.

I have researched the 489 and it seems a good visa with not many restrictions and can live anywhere in SA, with the option of applying for PR after 2 years via the 887 route with not much additional cost.

would me and OH have difficulty getting employment with this visa (489).

Apologies in advance for my long writing,just confused scared and not sure what to do,i will add we are doing this without an agent and found it straightforward so far.

Thank you in advance.

Guest tintre
Ahh 489's are good. Better than 457's. I'd say take it. I've been waiting for my 190 since August with 65 points. Quotas are almost full and looks like a wait till the July reset.

Thats what my instinct is telling me, if i failed the ielts 3 times now i doubt the resit tomorrow lol. Thats quite a while for the 190, what is your occupation?

Guest tintre