Ielts re-grade

JoeandCarrie

Hi all

Got my second IELTS results scores today (I had to take the academic one first for my nursing registration and anmac) I need to get 8's in all section for the visa application. I got Speaking 8.5, Reading 8.5, Listening 8.5 & Writing 7.5!! So frustrating!!! The thing is I got 8.5 in the academic module writing section. Does anyone know if you can combine tests?

Im considering asking for a re-mark? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Any advice appreciated!

Thanks

Carrie

you can't combine two tests... which is by the way very stupid. however, if you managed once to have 8.5 in writing, you may asked as said kelbert a remark. I have done it once and got 0.5 extra (speaking).

good luck for this awful and expensive exam....

So you took forth one Gwen? It's so frustrating having to get 8's across the board as I've only got 1 years work experience and I believe you need 3 years experience to claim points on the visa. If I only needed the 7's I could have put forward my first exam results...just losing a little confidence in being able to pass it now and obviously can't apply for visa without it must get revising I guess!!! X

IELTS is a poorly constructed test concocted by little people who are trying to show how very

clever they are. It tests a candidate's ability to perform under test conditions and people who

do not have good examination technique often do not score as well as they should have.

There are alternative tests of English accepted by the DIBP.

yes I did! writing killed me (and speaking once)! English is not my first language and I needed seven in each band for my position! I always had 7.5 as a overall band, so this was pretty stupid to do and redo that test! Actually, I worked with a teacher for 10 jours between test 3 and test 4. She explained me how to write "british" test and it worked. And I practice again and again... Got 7.5 at the last writing test!