Changes to Visa processing 1st Jan 2009

Guest brandyslad

Guest BAZnDAF

Might just be me, but it covers the majority of visas most people on here are waiting for!

nice to see my occupation is on the CSL List, maybe that means they will speed it up! but i doubt it.

I suggest anyone who is awaiting a visa, or thinking of applying to check these documents out! It will affect you.

Guest familygood

Hi

As I read it 475's will be given processing priority as they are state sponsored. This could be great news!!! I am going to contact our agent and ask the quesitons. Will write more if i find anything further out...

Guest brandyslad
Hi

As I read it 475's will be given processing priority as they are state sponsored. This could be great news!!! I am going to contact our agent and ask the quesitons. Will write more if i find anything further out...

That's the way I read it as well. Defintely doesn't seem like bad news anyway.

Guest familygood

Hi

I got the following update from our agent this morning. It really does look like good news for us 475'ers and at worst not the bad news that could have come with the current economic situation!

Firstly, The Department of Immigration and Citizenship will retain the existing 133,500 planning target, that is, the number of visas available in the Skilled Migration Program, in 2008-09. The Department will keep the number of visas granted under review for the remainder of 2008-09, to ensure the Program is meeting the needs of Australian employers and filling skills shortages.

Summary of Proposed Changes – effective 1 January 2009

Employer Sponsored Visas

What’s Changing? The number of employer sponsored visas will increase

Why? These applicants bring the strongest and most immediate economic benefit to Australia and the demand is driven specifically by the business community

State and Territory Sponsored Visas