My experience of Adelaide

Guest Roo1

Hi all,

I recently got a PM asking how I found Adelaide. I wrote it and thought that maybe I should post it on here, so it might help others.

Its a very brief sum up. Its just my opinion which you'll either agree with or totally dispute, thats up to you. But as long as its some benefit to others, don't shoot me!!!

I love it here. I like the slow pace of life I have now as before I was a full time teacher but now I'm a stay at home mum. I've never felt threatened here. The worse problem Adelaide has are the graffitti artists and the bad drivers. Of course there's criminals here but its definitly not on the scale as Manchester was. Adelaide's worse offence is being too sleepy and not liking change. Adelaideians are mostly born here and stay here till they die. We've come from a country where we are bombarded with issues in the news daily. If you chose to, issues around the world will not interfere in your day to day life here. (but that could be said of the U.K, just switch your T.V off.)

Adelaide is a good place to bring up kids if you want the same kinda life your parents had. Everything seems to be one step behind Europe. Theres far more to do for them here, cause you have the weather to go and do it. But once they hit 18, I'm sure they'll want to go off and explore like most kids do.

Theres lots going on though in the city, if you like the city life. Expo's, concerts and the fringe are the main high lights.

At the mo, its soooo cold here, hitting 0c. Aus homes are just not built for such weather. I'd kill for central heating. But I'm told this is unusual weather. Summer it can hit 40c which is unbearable and people stay at home or hit the mall for the air con.