Tax Credits

Guest ganders

Guest ganders

Hello,

I am a teacher from the UK, but am currently working at an international school in Vietnam. I have a wife, 4 year old and a 3 month old and we are considering moving to Australia when my contract finishes here in July 2011.

As a teacher, my salary isn't that great and I was just wondering if tax credits are available in Australia, similar to the UK? I'm just wondering whether or not we could afford to live off a teaching salary in Adelaide (I only have 3 years experience, so still at the bottom end of the pay scale) off one income, or would it be better to wait until my youngest child is at school them my wife could also work?

I have no savings and am worried I wont be able to save enough for a deposit on a house, etc.

Thanks,

Graham

Guest guest3462

A tricky question but without doubt if you have no finaces behind you, you will struggle in the beginning, but many people do come here with little or no savings and manage quite ably. You will only be entitled to any benefits if you have a permenant residency visa same with child care costs so that is a big thing to consider and if you come down the state sponsorship route the dept sa immi will want to know exactly how much money you have and how you will intend to support your family once you arrive. Lots of teachers here find it difficult to secure full time work and end up temping on a supply contract and will have to find work outside of their profession to supplement the income. Cost of living is more than on the uk and I would guess definately more than in Vietnam!

Please don't think I'm trying to scare you off cos I'm not, I wish you all the very best in whatever you decide to do.

Guest ganders