NI Voluntary Contributions

Guest hughescl

Guest hughescl

Hi everyone

Does anyone pay UK NI voluntary contributions? we are considering this, Paul my husband has been self employed and paid approx 28 years of contributions and I have paid 17 years, is it worthwhile to continue for the UK state pension? we are going to ring HMRC again tommorrow but can't get any decent advice they just keep referring us to a form NI38 and it's a bit unclear. If anyone has experience of this that could give me a bit of info that would be great Many Thanks Claire:)

Guest Aussie pat

Aussie pat's other half here

Yes I do have some experience of this. Just to get the provisos out of the way first, I am not an expert and this is not financial advice.

First thing I would do is get a State Pension forecast from the State Pension Forecasting team, The Pension Service, Tyneview Park, Whitley Road, Newcastle-u-Tyne, NE98 1BA.

tEL: 0845 3000 168 OR 001144 191 218 3600 if in Oz. You can also do it by email if in UK but not in Oz at http://www.direct.gov.uk/pemsions.

Now I'm no expert as already declared, but I believe max UK pension only requires 30 years contributions, so one of you is nearly there. The pensions service will tell you if you can purchase additional years contributions and how much that will be.

I did this recently, and it struck me as a good deal, provided I survive till I'm 65 and then for a bit after! Better get the lifestyle sorted out - more exercise and less wine!

Guest rachinadelaide

Yes, we have topped up a few years to make them full years. My hubby went to some finance seminar and it was recommended as a good investment especially if you have any part years you can top up.