Getting by on a mechanics wage

Reena1991

Just joined pia and was wondering if anyone could advise on the following:

we have jus started the process of applying for state sponsorship. OH is a mechanic (senior technician) and has worked for a ford dealership for 12 years and is one the top bonus and target hitter there. He's also an MOT tester but don't think that will have any benefit in oz. when we Arrive he will be the one going out to work while I stay at home with our 2 little ones.

Firstly, is it likely he will get a mechanic job fairly quickly?

secondly, will we be able to survive on just his wage for a couple of years until the children are at school? I am a primary teacher and would want to to do this in oz but would need to wait until they are both in school. We have talked about me getting a little part time job to help in the evenings if need be but just wondered if anyone could give an insight into a mechanics wages and if we could survive off them. We will be taking about £20,000 to get us set up and started.

Any opinions or advise would be really be really appreciated,

thanks

Not sure about the mechanic job situation but as a rough guide, we have 3 school age children, one car, a fairly cheap rental ($330) a week and we have been surviving quite nicely on one salary of $85,000 (which I know is above average for a single salary). Not really had to be too cautious with money. We get family assistance and rent assistance which works out to an extra $410 a fortnight. You will get that too.

Having said that, we are about to buy our first place and from then on, we are gonna have to be very careful - to the point that we are probably going to need to have two incomes to be comfortable.

Edited by zebedee