Exchange rates reversal - what to do?

guspjmh

We arrive on the 9th, and although we have exchanged some money, the rates have just been getting better and better, so we've been holding fire on transferring the bulk of it - we have enough to keep us going for a good few months. However, in the last few days we have seen the GBP/AUD reverse from almost $1.87 to around $1.82. Not sure whether to buy now or if this is just a blip, and keep holding for a couple of months longer.

Any experts on hand to offer advice?

Cheers!

Gus

I reckon it's a blip (just my opinion though). Many people think the aussie dollar will drop further over the next few months. Apparantly forex traders have been buying the AUD today because it was cheap, but volumes are very low as lots of people are still on holiday, making the exchanges volatile. I would wait and see what it goes on Monday/Tuesday when everyone is back from their holidays. I'm not an expert though - the currency markets are often beyond logic - one day they go up and one day they go down. Still at current rates it is much much better than earlier this year when the rate dropped to A$1.45 to £1.

I reckon it's a blip (just my opinion though). Many people think the aussie dollar will drop further over the next few months. Apparantly forex traders have been buying the AUD today because it was cheap, but volumes are very low as lots of people are still on holiday, making the exchanges volatile. I would wait and see what it goes on Monday/Tuesday when everyone is back from their holidays. I'm not an expert though - the currency markets are often beyond logic - one day they go up and one day they go down. Still at current rates it is much much better than earlier this year when the rate dropped to A$1.45 to £1.