is this financially possible??

Matt796

Ok.

My partners job pays $40,000 AUD pa. I will come without a job and hopefully manage to secure one asap. We have two children (one baby and one school age). We want to rent a 2 bed apartment to start with. I'm not sure how much money we will come out with - maybe $6 - 10,000 AUD. Is it possible to get by on this for at least the first few months? The rent I've seen is around $250 pw.

I am a Police Officer and hope that I would mange to get a job in either SAPOL,Corrections or child protection etc but I know this may not be possible.

In the UK we earn around £47,000 plus per annum combined and that does offer us a comfortable lifestyle financially. Not sure if this move is financially viable???!!!

What visa will you be coming on? $40k is a pretty low salary here but if you were on a PR visa you would get child care benefit straight away. If you have savings then the fact that one of you is earning would be better than if you were both out of work but you would struggle on that long term. It certainly would not give you the same kind of lifestyle you have in the UK. If you are confident that you could get work with SAPOL then it might still be worth doing. Out of interest what does your wife do? Have you checked that the salary offered is market rate for the role?

She is a Hair Stylist and it appears to be a good market rate that the employer has offered.

it is a RSMS 187 visa which I believe is permanent visa. Yes we have some savings and I was previously successful in 2006 when WAPOL recruited from the UK but I decided not to come over then (wish I had if I'm honest ).

The salary listed is spot on for a hair stylist.

There are different rates payable depending upon whether she works in a salon with colours or whether she works for a salon that just does cutting. The rates are lower for the cutting salons.

I have a business that serves on arrival migrants but there are a few truths have need to be told: