Looking for a job

Dimi

Hi everyone.

I hope everybody is doing well.

I arrived in Adelaide a bit more than a month ago and I have actively been looking for a job.

I have a Business Administration and a Management degree that I obtained overseas.

Ideally, I would love to get involved in the organizaton of events like festivals, concerts, etc. But I know it is not easy, so I just keep applying for administrative positions where I have some experience.

My problems are the following:

1. My studies appear very broad and therefore I cannot apply for positions in Marketing or Accounting because it is not my specialization (even though both were a big part of my curriculum).

2. I don't have local work experience because I grew up overseas, even though I have the Australian citizenship. So I guess employers are hesitant to give me that first chance, especially if they know they will have to train me.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to overcome these obstacles?

Any suggesions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance for your help.

Dimitri

Are you applying for casual and fixed term contracts? Lots of these around and often they are a way in to an organisation. I work at a Uni and it's rare that a permanent job goes to someone who isn't already working at the Uni somewhere, either as a casual staff member or on a fixed term contract. I started on a fixed term contract then got made permanent.