Electrical jobs

Curly

Hi I've just discovered this forum and would like some advice if anyone has it. Me and my family have now received our permenant residency visa and we are looking to move in the next few months if we can sell our house here. I am an electrician with over 10 years experience. My roles have mainly been on commercial construction jobs but I do have experience with industrial and domestic installation and also maintenance. I would like to get a job in the commercial construction sector again but all the job sites I look at don't seem to offer much in this field. Are all the electricians who work on commercial installations sub contractors or is there companies who mainly deal in this area? I'm trying to get as much info as possible to help me when I arrive. I look forward to any responses. Thanks

I don't want to be bearer of bad news mate... But being an electrician in Adelaide at the moment isn't the greatest... I think before you start looking for work consider looking at your licence requirements like enrolling at Peer. Preparation for Logbook that take you 6 months minimum. I don't want to sound cynical but I've left the state because of it and I'm an electrician who's been through Hell and back in Adelaide.

Sorry to hear about you're experience in Adelaide. I have started my research into my temporary license and also looking into my further studies and realise that it will take 6-12 months to complete all of the documentation required. Where are you living now? Did you have a job in Adelaide or did you have to give up before you got started?

• 1 month later...

Guys,

I run my own electrical business and know the pitfalls and hardships that await you as I too had to go through all the hoops to get my electrical license and then my contractors license.

What you will need when you get here is to get your qualifications recognised by the Aussies. I can only speak of the UK sparkies in this reply.