Newbie- needs help

Hello all. I'm hoping someone can give me some fishing tips.

I have only just started fishing, and am pretty much learning as I go.

I've got a 3.8m tinny which I'm still getting the hang of (just worked out the fish finder, sort of).

I have mostly been launching off the beach as seacliffe, with the occasional west beach launch, and once down port river (did take it to the river land once too).

I just have no idea where to go, what I'm aiming at catching and what bate to use.

This weekend I went out off west beach, randomly, stopping when the fish finder told me there were fish. I had squid as bait, my first try with squid. The guy at the boat place said it was just as good as cockles, but cheaper.

We didn't catch a thing! Our timing was out I think. But still nothing.

Any tips for a total newbie, and suggested fishing spots (for someone who avoids deep water) would be great.

I'm pretty much after fish I can smoke or fry.

Sorry I'm waffling now.

Ohhhh yer, any links to anywhere which lists what types of fish are around and where would be great too.

Thanks. :eek:

Salmon and tommies are my favourites so far, those and leather jackets.

Last trip before this weekend we caught loads of salmon. Not all of size, but at one spot it was two at once at every chuck in within seconds. We ended up having to move as they were all under size and eating all the bait. Lol.

What are the best rigs for those type of fish? I have been using whiting rigs.

Guest Guest75
In that case yes I had tried, to no avail.

But he is here now, so tyke, if you have any advice I would love to hear it. :-)

It's a hoooge subject.

But please always remember with boats ............No fish is worth it!!

I've been caught out badly a few times - once 35k's outs with the weather.

Fuel............... 1 third for going out, one third for return and one third for the sea .. When rough and slow speed you massively increase fuel consumption.

Fishing rigs..............