Too far??

Hi

Please excuse my Scottish idea of distance, I live in a country you can drive from top to bottom in a day! We have been looking at living around Port Noarluga area, well South of the City anyway, but as a nurse I don't want to limit my work prospects in hospitals when I first arrive, so is it too far to drive to hospitals North of the City? Would hope eventually to get a job near where I live but would first take just about anything! I would rather live where I prefer and commute, but am I being silly with the distances? Thanks for any info

Gill :daydreaming:

Guest moonraker1959

That depends how far north you might be planning to go! If you're talking about say the Lyell in Elizabeth then that would be quite some commute!Gawler is even further.So how far north?Any idea?

Also bear in mind that although a commute of 45 mins might be acceptable to you, when employers are looking at Resumes they quite often reject any that they feel have too far to travel. I have heard of employees around Gepps Cross area (not hospitals though) who won't even consider a CV from someone living as far south as Port Noarlunga.

Hi

Please excuse my Scottish idea of distance, I live in a country you can drive from top to bottom in a day! We have been looking at living around Port Noarluga area, well South of the City anyway, but as a nurse I don't want to limit my work prospects in hospitals when I first arrive, so is it too far to drive to hospitals North of the City? Would hope eventually to get a job near where I live but would first take just about anything! I would rather live where I prefer and commute, but am I being silly with the distances? Thanks for any info

Gill :daydreaming:

We live in Sellicks Beach and my wife works at the RAH, I don't think they'd discount you living in Port Noarlunga - you could ring and ask though. If you are doing shifts, the journey is often quicker as you miss the traffic - but you can miss the Express Way :goofy: