Thailand - health advice please

Guest TheTodds

Guest TheTodds

Hello.

We are travelling to Thailand in March next year for a family wedding - ideal place to meet family from UK! I asked my doctor what immunisations we need and he said I had to see a travel doctor. I found one in Adelaide and made an appointment for next month but it will cost $300 for the four of us just for the consultation plus the cost of whatever jabs / treatment we need. I can't afford this!!

I have read a bit of stuff on the net on Thailand and it seems we may not need to have anything but just wondered if anyone else had any good advice on this.

We will be in Phitsanulok for 4 days then Krabi.

Thanks, Helen.

I must stress I am not a doctor I am only a travel agent but generally people don't have vaccinations to go to Thailand unless u r way out in the jungle somewhere - I would def not pay $300 just for the consultation and there is a website called travel doctor which generally gives pretty good advice

unless you have a bit of an off the wall medical condition which means u mite be more susceptible to something then most people don't go with anything other than a bit of bug repellant!!

have a great trip

p.s. again stress I am not a medical person so don't hunt me down if u catch a bug but this is highly unlikely in my experience!!!

Guest Claire-n-tel
I must stress I am not a doctor I am only a travel agent but generally people don't have vaccinations to go to Thailand unless u r way out in the jungle somewhere - I would def not pay $300 just for the consultation and there is a website called travel doctor which generally gives pretty good advice

unless you have a bit of an off the wall medical condition which means u mite be more susceptible to something then most people don't go with anything other than a bit of bug repellant!!

have a great trip

p.s. again stress I am not a medical person so don't hunt me down if u catch a bug but this is highly unlikely in my experience!!!