Tae Kwondo classes

niknjas

• 2 weeks later...
Guest mantis88

My 2 girls are both black belts in the UK . But none of the clubs weve been to will recognise there grades and want them to start again! So regretably it looks like they are gonna give it up!

My 2 girls are both black belts in the UK . But none of the clubs weve been to will recognise there grades and want them to start again! So regretably it looks like they are gonna give it up!

That's nothing new.

DFInd ut when the local inter club contest is taking place and enter them under their old uk club name and see where it goes.

You might not like what I'm about to say so please please please don't take this the wrong way.

This could well be a 'humility about the art' type of thing. I was a first dan in a style of karate in Adelaide. I had been training (very very hard) for five years to achieve this. When I came to the UK and was looking for clubs every club I went to I wore my white belt (I didn't even bring my black belt with me). I haven't trained for 8 years and if I went back to training now I would wear a white belt. This is because, as a karate-ka, you are meant to be humble about the sport. Achieving your first dan is acknowledgement that you have a knowledge of the basics. If you try out another style (or another club) then you cannot assume you know the basics there. That is just my opinion and more or less what was instilled in us with our training.

Having said that, it's really easy to accept when you're an adult and very focussed on the sport. Less easy when you are a child (you don't say how old your daughters are). It's quite likely that your girls would progress more rapidly through the grades than usual - I know some people in my club had taken breaks from training (say, a year off) and came back as white belts and either graded very quickly or were told they could wear their old belt after a few months.