Oh my goodness we're moving to Adelaide in September! Newbie here :D

Guest allie

Guest allie

Hi everyone!

My husband has just been offered a job in Adelaide, so it looks like we will be arriving soon (many forms and scary visas permitting!) It is a bit of a shock as the job offer was a bit out of the blue and we hadn't been planning to move...let alone to Australia! We are hoping that it will be worth the risk of uprooting ourselves so that he can finally get to work in the area he trained in (no chance of that happening in bonnie scotland at all) He hopes to start in Sept but we were going to try and be there a bit earlier so that we can have a good look around our future home!

Soooooo here I am;) I have to admit that i am a bit terrified. I am a primary teacher and it doesn't look like there is a whole lot of work out there for me. Im not particularly bothered about getting a permanent job but a bit of supply would be nice! Given that i am leaving a job here that causes me much stress and anxiety, I think an enforced break from teaching will prob work out for the best. I will do all the registering and what not but I have a very realistic expectation of what I can expect (mainly due to the info on this site so thank you!) I'm pretty easy going so i think i'll just go with the flow and see what end up doing :o

Having read a lot of threads, I realise that we are in the fortunate position of going over with my OH having a job lined up so Im counting myself lucky. I cant imagine how scary it must be to go and hope for the best - hats of to all the brave people on here who did just that!

I think I have rambled on enough so I'll cut my babbling short and get back to filling in many, many forms.....total nightmare!

Any advice on nice areas to live or a bit of a friendly message from people who have already been through this whole process would be very welcome! The thing that scare me most of all is knowing NO ONE on the other side of the world!