• 1 Post By Diane
    • 1 Post By Andrew&Ren
    • 1 Post By doje6863
    • 1 Post By Drumms
    • 1 Post By Tiddlypush
    • 2 Post By graandjac

Thread: All things ozzie

All things ozzie

Hey guys – another newbie here (been a visitor to the site for some considerable time).

Am mulling over the possibility of emigrating to Oz. Trouble is –

1 For the life of me I can’t wear thongs, and
      2 I think those Snuggly things look like a brilliant idea!

Should I be thinking about Canada instead?

Seriously though, I am hoping to be able to come over for a holiday/reccie next year. The idea is to obtain a better picture of what I may be gaining from the move, and what I need to give up. Even with all the info and help you kindly provide on this site, it is just so difficult to get a handle on things without actually being there. Guess I will just have to be patient a little longer. I don’t have kids – so the better life would just be for me! Colleagues who have made the move themselves, and others with friends/family who have done it – all say how absolutely wonderful it is out there, and how they should have done it years ago.

I should mention (and please don’t hate me for this) that I have an Australian passport (being born in Adelaide), and so don’t need to go through the Visa application process. However, the age 45 cut-off must be there for a reason – am I too old to be thinking about this at 46/47? Are the “Super” payments going to cost me and arm and a leg?

Highbury, SA
      4221 times
      Hi Fozzie - as another holder of an aussie passport since birth, I have to say, go for it! Hey, why not? The thongs thing is surmountable, I promise!
      Fozziebear likes this.
      Sometimes the grass will appear greener on the other side because it has been fertilised by bull****

Preston v Adelaide?!? I know where i choose ;)
      Fozziebear likes this.

Seaford Rise
      36 times