Hi I'm new

Guest shazzakidala

Guest shazzakidala

Hi

My name is Sharon, I'm married to Shane who is a locksmith although he has just qualified as an electrician. I have a daughter Ashleigh who is 14. I also have a son Ryan who is 18 and going to University in September so he won't be emigrating with us.

I am a nurse (qualified 18 months) and we are hoping to emigrate to Adelaide sometime around the end of January 2010.

We were under the impression (maybe naively) that Australia is a lovely hot country to live in. Can anybody tell me what the weather is like in Adelaide summer and winter. Does it get really cold and is it like UK weather at all.

Great site with some very useful threads on here.

Ah. The thing about the weather is that you KNOW that it will be a good long summer and a short cool winter. It has been cool recently, down to 3 degress in the City at night. It feels colder because the houses aren't set up for it. You can stand it though, because you know that summer starts in September. You aren't just hoping that you get one like in the UK. That being said, there will be some days when you don't want to go out between 10 and 4 because it is too hot. They have beer though and that helps.

Guest kellyp

Hi

The summers are wonderful (even the 40+ days) and make the cold in winter bearable beause you know you have them to look forward to!! You acclimatise pretty quickly, I wear the same winter coat over here which I wore in England to watch my son play winter sport and I am sure it doesn't keep me as warm even though the temperature is not as cold (hope that makes sense!).

Good luck with everything.

Kelly

Guest Rob and Clare

Hi Sharon,

You can check out some climate averages and daily temperatures on www.bom.gov.au

Here's a snap shot of some averages :

Elizabeth - North of Adelaide

Average Summer High - 30 degs Average Winter low 6 degs Average Rainfall 425mm

Adelaide City