Emigrating 23rd March 2010

Ashby Dicko

Just wondered if any other famiies will be emigrating around the same time as us.

We would like to compare notes as to all the jobs that need doing before the big move, such as Bank account and P85 form, rental's, meet and greet etc...

And for the families out there do you have any suggestions?

We have a furnished holiday rental sorted in Henley for 3 weeks and are now looking for a long term in the same surrounding areas.

I am an electrician with an electricial mechanic ARTC qualification and would like some contacts PLEASE!!!

Hi, we have been in Adelaide for areound 3 months or so now. The first couple of weeks were a little manic, getting everything sorted. We opened our bank account before leaving the UK, so we just had to go into our branch once in Adelaide to get everything verified. The first thing to do when you arrive is to apply for your tax file number as without this you will pay a very high rate of tax once you start working. it is very simple to apply, we did ours on line and it came through around 20 days later. You can drive on your UK licence to begin with, but we were advised to get ours changed as soon as possible as we bought a car - again this was pretty straight forward.

We were in short term rental for 8 weeks but didn't have too much of a nightmare securing a longer term rental, although I would suggest waiting until you get here to begin looking as some photos do put the property in a more favourable light than the real thing, and of course, you can get a better grip on which areas you think you will like.

The thought of everything we had to do was far worse than actually doing it - we just made a list and slowly worked our way through it. Still finding out things now so think it will be a long learning process.

Hope all goes well with your move - you can always get in touch with people on here once you have arrived. I found it very useful and have picked up some good advice along the way.