Worried about job prospects as a teacher

Guest Kelly&Mike

Guest Kelly&Mike

Hi everyone. This is my first attempt on a forum so please bear with me. I have spent a good deal of time ( there are perks to being snowed in ) browsing the site trying to answer as many of my own questions as I can. I have noticed quite a few worrying comments about the lack of job opportunities for teachers in Adelaide. We have just received our 175 visas and will look to move over by September 2010 if we can persuade somebody to but our house.

We visited in August 2008 and, despite the familiar weather ( not quite like Oldham but nearly ) we had a wonderful time for our 4 week stay in the West Lakes. I visited a school in Gawler and was even offered a job. Couldn't take it as we knew a long road lay ahead.

We would prefer to live within striking distance of the beach and have been impressed by people's opinions of hallett cove and seaford. Does anyone know if there is still a fair demand for secondary teachers in these areas? I teach maths in the UK which is usually quite sought after but I'm either hopeless at searching the Net for jobs or there are relatively few around. Would be willing to try alternative areas of employment but to be honest I have little or no experience of anything else.

P.s. Kelly, my better half and the kids Kathryn ( 3 in March ) and Jessica ( 6 months ) will doubtless drag me to the beach on a regular basis ( not exactly kicking and screaming ) but football ( soccer if you must ) is my other passion. Is there much scope for an average 35 year old to get a game anywhere?

Thanks in advance if you have read this post it means I didn't delete it this time!