a nervous nervous hello & job query

Guest starduster

Guest starduster

Hi, Having spent months and months looking at other messages (and finally reading shella_n post) I've finally plucked up the courage to join in. Great forums this and PomsinOz.

Our visa was granted Sept 08 and we are only awaiting the sale of our house to make the move. We need to be in Adelaide by June so have opted to visit for the month of May. Costly, but we're not losing the visa! I'm really nervous about the move at the moment, I think I'm a bit concerned about job prospects.

Can anyone offer advise about job hunting... My background is architecture and I've worked with several residential property developers throughout the UK, and wonder whats the best way to approach employers in Adelaide.....

1. Should I write just now and enclose a cv/ portfolio of work and advise that I'll be in Adelaide in May.

2. Should I wait until we have finally moved.

3. Has anyone had any joy re placing their details on the Australian Skilled Migrant Job Seeker website?

4. Any other suggestions?

Our other big issue is which suburb, which I see we're not alone!

Finally, if anyone is still in the trenches of pursuing their visa, the best advise I can offer is to stick with it. There was many times when we had virtually given up all hope. If it was easy we'd all be doing it!

kind regards

Hi, Having spent months and months looking at other messages (and finally reading shella_n post) I've finally plucked up the courage to join in. Great forums this and PomsinOz.

Our visa was granted Sept 08 and we are only awaiting the sale of our house to make the move. We need to be in Adelaide by June so have opted to visit for the month of May. Costly, but we're not losing the visa! I'm really nervous about the move at the moment, I think I'm a bit concerned about job prospects.