Hello Everyone!

Guest Ben

Just registered, found the site from Poms In Oz and as Adelaide is where we want to end up thought this would be a nice way to meet people with the same in mind :)

I am in my last three years of 22 in the Royal Navy, a Marine Engineering Electrician by trade although that involves everything from 440VAC Generation right down to 24VDC consumption, so lots of scope there!

My wife Dawn has an NVQL3 in Childcare and Education with approximately 4 years of experience. (Looking after other peoples screaming snotty gits is not something I could ever do, so I take my hat off to her :D ).

We have three kids, Matthew 11, Harry 10 and Katie who is 2 and has me totally wrapped around her finger :embarrassed:.

Like I said, I still have just under three years left to do, so we haven't even started the process yet and as such it is still a pipe dream for us. We don't even know what the employment opportunities are like in the Adelaide area for us yet, but thats why we're here!

Good luck to anyone going through the process, and Merry Christmas everybody! :)

Ben

Hi Ben

Just be aware of the DIAC age-restrictions, I suggest, plus the fact that the MODL changes according to current demand from time to time. Unless you will both still be comfortably under 45 in 3 years time, it might be prudent to secure a visa fairly soon anyway, do a rekkie trip just to validate it, and you will have 5 years from the date of the visa grant to make the permanent move to Oz.

Please study the two links below:

http://www.immi.gov.au/immigration.htm

http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/booklets/booklets.htm

It is not too soon to print off and really study Booklets 5 & 6 very closely.