Poms moving from Toowoomba QLD to Adelaide

Guest thebradleys

Guest thebradleys

Hi folks

We have been in OZ since 2009 and decided that QLD isnt for us and have shortlisted our move down to Adelaide!, I'm a panel beater by trade and have been offered several jobs over the phone, so we are ok on that score, would like any advice on good / bad areas to rent and bearing in mind we have children and we are looking to put our kids in private schooling there, so any idea of school fees would be helpfull (have checked out various school websites but no info on fess)!

Cheers

Chris and Joanne

from Eastbourne East Sussex

Hi and welcome to the site - soon to be welcome to Adelaide!

Whereabouts are the jobs you have been offered, and how old are your children? Are you looking for a school that is particularly academic, or one that has good sports or arts/music facilities, and are you looking for single sex or mixed schools?

Private school fees vary a lot depending on what you are looking for - the religion-based ones tend to be a little cheaper than the non-religious ones: but your kids don't have to be religious to attend a religion-based school - mine definitely aren't and they are at a jesuit-run school. Probably the "best" private schools (i.e. those where people like politicians and very well-paid people send their offspring, in other words the most expensive) are places like St Peters in the city (boys) and Prince Alfred College (also boys I think), Scotch College (mixed) and Pembroke (mixed), but there are loads more. There is a site here which will give you links and info on some: http://www.ais.sa.edu.au/about-our-schools/search-our-schools and one for Catholic schools here http://www.adelaide.catholic.org.au/sites/CatholicEducationOfficesSA/our-schools/find-a-school or one here http://www.privateschoolsdirectory.com.au/adelaide-schools.php

Good luck with your move

Guest thebradleys

Hi Diane