Jobs in the Adelaide

Guest lizdaz

Hello everyone,

Its great to find a forum with people in the same situation as us.We are coming over to Adelaide at the end of next month with a view to investigating the job market for Floor Finishers.I have been a floor fitter for over 21 yrs but unfortunately have no qualifications.There were no NVQs back in those heady mid 1980s days.Because of this my application for a skilled visa has been suspended by the TRA until the summer.

If anyone can help or has any useful tips about sponsorship or anything else for that matter please get in touch.Look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks Darren

Guest stufi1997

Hi Darren, I'm a painter and dec, and like you i was time served but no qualifications ,i'm not sure of the rules now because i did my tra last year, but i had to prve my expeiance through work referances ...old employers and who i did my time with. Can't say it was'nt a lot of work and i had to write my own referances on one of them , i got my old boss to e-mail me a letter headed paper and then told him i was a wondrfull employee...he just laughed so i was lucky there. If your self employed i'm not sure , i think you need envoices and customer ref's etc ????you also have to explain your job in depth ..even the obvious bit's and all the tools in your trade. i'm not sure if you've looked into it yet so you may know all this already.i'm a different trade but i think the idea is the same for us all , i can give you my stuff if it can give you a clue ....good luck Stu.

Hi Stu,

Thanks for the info.Most of it already known.The TRA have suspended any application that relies on experience and skill only.Dont know when this suspension will be lifted so some form of sponsorship may be our only route in.

Thanks Darren

Guest stufi1997