Same Sex Couples and Adoption in OZ

Guest Prawnies

Guest Prawnies

Hi all,

My name is Shaun and my partner's name is Blue. I am a social care consultant in the UK and Blue is a medical Dr.

We adopted our son in the UK, last year, he is 2years of age.

We are thinking of emigrating to live in Adelaide. My question to anyone is how are same sex couples received in Adelaide? Are civil partnerships legal? Is same sex adoption legal in Adelaide?

How do you think we will be received as a same sex couple with a son?

Thanks

Shaun

I don't know what the legal situation would be with your son as same sex couples aren't allowed to adopt in South Australia (but can be foster parents). Other states do allow it though - you would need to research this thoroughly with the Australian authorities. You may find it easier in those states (ACT, NSW and WA). One of my daughters friends has 2 mums and they are accepted as just another family at school - no signs of any prejudice.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Prawnies

HI Guys, thank-you so much for the response, I have been in touch with the adoption unit in Adelaide - and they are being really helpful with trying to answer my questions around same-sex couples with adopted children emigrating to Australia.

They tell me that there are a number of 'lesbian' couples with biological children in Adelaide and that while same sex ‘adoption’ is not yet legal, there are circumstances where same sex couples can take on a caring role for children, and become their legal guardians. That SA are moving much more into the ‘permanent care’ arena for same-sex couples - so good news for us!

Shaun

Hi, dont know much but worth checking this page on Facebook - just type on the search function NATIONAL ADOPTION AWARENESS WEEK

http://www.adoptionawarenessweek.com.au

Guest macrad

Hi Shaun,