New Member-Thinking of Adelaide

Guest stum85

Hi Guys and girls

Myself(Stuart) and Grilfriend Kelly (27 and 24) are going through the process of applying for a visa. Just about to send my skills assessment away as a mechanical engineering technician. We're hopefully moving over from Glasgow.

As my occupation is on the sponsorship list for SA we are looking at Adelaide.

We would like to know peoples opinions on staying there?

We like eating out and going to the cinema and the odd drink although dont fancy mad nights out anymore just a couple of drinks before or after dinner. Is there plenty of variety in this respect?

Any other opinions on Adelaide will be welcome.

Thanks in advance :smile:

Tons of places to eat out and have a drink before/after, although how far away somewhere decent will be obviously depends where you choose to settle (Adelaide doesn't have a very big population but it's a very spread out place).

I know the OP didn't ask about Prospect, but the Reepham Hotel is another establishment known to serve alcohol in that suburb ...

Jim

That's great thanks for your replies.

Are most of these based relatively close together in the city centre or dotted about in different suburbs?

Also the girlfriend wants to know what the shopping is like :P

Shopping is average, more expensive then the UK and you have all the main shops in the Mall and Rundle st. But it gets quite boring after a while.

Food is amazing, never had a bad meal but if you in the suburbs there is very little to do. Better to stay close to the city, specially as you both young.

Grange and Henley Beach are both great, quiet suburbs but 30m by train or bus.

Adelaide is quiet and it gets boring sometimes.

Cinemas check out this one, is in the city and the one with the best selection and you can sign up to be a member and is cheaper

http://www.palacecinemas.com.au/

Just remember is quiet and can be boring but is a beautiful city.

That's great thanks for your replies.