Info on Adelaide

Guest dodo

Hi All I am new on here and was looking for some information about Adelaide, My husband and I are hoping to move out next spring, I am a Staff Nurse off 10 years and my husband is an australian ( but brought back over to scotland when he was a child) and works as a IT Officer. The questions are : Would we get jobs easy and what is Adelaide like to live in also where not to stay in Adelaide? (my husband is from Melbourne.)

we are in our 30s and 40s.

Thanks for any information.

Hello and welcome :)

Good luck with the move.

With regards to where not to live, everyone has their own preference of what they like and don't like. And often the 'where to avoid' or 'where not to live' threads can become a bit heated as of course, not everyone agrees.

The subject matter was discussed recently and there is a thread on it here. Perhaps have a read of that and see if there is anything of use there. People also mention areas they like.

http://www.pomsinadelaide.com/forum/renting-real-estate/33499-what-suburbs-should-we-avoid.html

Often where you end up living comes down to your budget, commute times to work and things like schools if you have kids. There are some very nice suburbs in northern Adelaide apparently. And also some good ones in the east (pricey) and the south. I am sure you could find places in all those directions that you'd be happy with.

• 4 weeks later...

In your 30's and 40's eh, so you don't have long to get in right? Firstly, nursing staff is always wanted, particularly if you're specialized in some way. It may well be advisable though, to nominate for a country area rather than a city location initially. Fully trained staff are hard to come by out in the sticks (not talking desert country here) and there are many beautiful small town hospitals around.