Student nurse looking for placement in Adelaide

kyliedonut

Hello guys....first timer here, not sure if I am posting in the correct place or not, but hoping someone can help me.

I am a student nurse in Scotland at the moment and am looking into completing my elective placement in Adelaide. I was out in Aus/NZ for two years and am hoping to move out to South Australia once I graduate.

For my elective placement, I am allowed to choose where to go for 4/5weeks clinical practice. I thought this would be a good opportunity to get my foot in the door, so to speak.

Just wondering if there are any nurses out there who have knowledge of this sort of thing taking place where they work?

Thanks, Kylie

• 1 year later...

Really started to look into this a lot more recently and have contacted a couple of universities.... no luck as of yet. It is the universities I must contact in the first instance it seems (not the hospital), as I need to be registered through APHRA as a student...and it is the education provider that does this. My university also wants it completed through an Australian university so they can establish it is of same standard as I would expect in the UK.

I know there are way more nursing students than there are clinical placements in SA, but I'm still gonna keep trying. I would love a rural placement, and I know these aren't as popular so I'm optimistic!

Again, any advice is most welcome! And any nurses who know of overseas students gaining a placement where they work...would be good to hear!

I work in Professional services in one of the Uni's in the relevant division and I can tell you we have problems getting enough placements for the existing students it is unlikely they will be able to find one for someone who isn't a student, but you never know. The problem is so bad the numbers being accepted on the course are restricted by the clinical placements that can be found and they are looking to send students overseas to complete the placements.