where to live !!!

Guest k.minsh

Guest k.minsh

hi everyone.we are in the middle of the visa process and are undecided where to live,having never been to australia.I am a nurse and my husand a plasterer we have two children aged six and eight. We are a bit bewildered as to where to start looking for schools ,jobs ,house etc..Any ideas/info would be great...:smile:

Hi, I was the same when I first started looking. Unfortunately there is no way we could spend money on a trip over before making the move as we want to go pretty soon after the visa is granted. I searched his forum and others and made a list of the 'common' places to live, then searched schools in those areas and looked for reviews on each school etc.

when we move over we'll have a holiday rental for 4weeks and in the irst week we'll look at the different areas on my list and then go from there.

im also a nurse so depending on jobs will depend on the area, if I work in the city I wouldn't like to be much farther than hallett cove,reynella however if I got a job at flinders (I'd love that!) I'd really love to live in port noarlunga, seaford rise, seaford meadows, moana etc however feel these areas might be a bit far if I need to commute to the city for work.

Have a browse of some of the different forums on here. Education, Renting and Real Estate, plenty of threads discussing areas, schools and so on to browse away over :)

If you are a nurse are you the main applicant? As in do you have work lined up in one of the hospitals or some such? If so I'd go out from commute times for you to work and then go out from there. Areas with a decent commute time, your budget, schools in those areas and facilities etc.

realestate.com.au is great for oogling property. Just remember when you put in 'Adelaide' it will only cover a small part, the main city area. Other suburbs will have different names and area codes etc. Check google maps to give you an idea of the layout.

Guest k.minsh