To stay or to go! that is the question

Guest MrsG

Hi there,

New on here but have been having a look for a while now.

We're seriously thinking about selling up & moving our family out to the Adelaide area. The 'We' consists of myself, hubby & 2 smal children (one 3 and one 7 months).

As I'm sure everyone else can appriciate it's not something you can do on a whim & we have loads of questions, mainly about visas, finances & living costs, moving costs etc. Childcare is also an issue I'm trying o investigate as currently my mother in law looks after my two while we're at work.

Let's face it, as much as I'd love to up sticks there's no point in doing it if we're going to be completely skint! lol

My job is on the SNOL list (I work in IT but not massively technical!) & I think i'd be OK for work but I think my husband would be considered as unskilled. He works in warehousing HI LOPs & I havent managed to find many jobs for this sort of work.

Does anyone have any advice on things like where there are good sources of info on things like childcare costs, what the rate of tax is, or just general pearls of wisdom to get us a clearer view of what we potentially could look forward to!

Thanks!

Clare

Guest magicsprout

i would advise to do a reccie before making any big decision, you can then have a good look around, investigate a few firms and see how things cost for yourself. visas are a long drawn out expensive process and you do need to be sure

Guest Guest75

It is a big move to say the least, probably the biggest change you will ever effect upon your family.

I can only give vary general advice .

Come with as much money as possible.

I've seen a family of 6 turn up with 5000GBP and be happy here but in general that does not happen.

The first 3 months will see you bleed money for cars,rentals,deposits but don't forget that this is replacing what you had in the UK.