Nurse moving to Adelaide- advice please

Guest The Moffats

Guest The Moffats

Hello everyone! It is a difficult decision to make, to move to the other side of the world and one which has taken us a long time to reach. I am a Nurse (RGN) here in Edinburgh and have lots of experience in Transplant Theatre, Recovery, anesthetics and I am currently a community nurse. My husband is a Police Officer but doesn't get any points for the VISA so I'll be the main applicant.

We are a bit stuck on what is the best route to get us started. We are going to Downunder live next week in Glasgow but aren't sure if the best route is to use a migration agent or to do the work ourselves. From out research so far it seems the first thing I should be doing is getting state sponsorship and joining the Nursing and Midwifery council in Oz so that I am eligible for employment.

I would love to hear from any Nurses who have gotten PR in Oz and to find out what the best route to take is. We have sold the house here in Edinburgh and have the money in the bank ready to get going so any assistance would be much appreciated.

My husband and I are both nurses .we chose to do the application ourselves,it wasnt difficult .In my opinion its a waste of your money to get an agent. Its a case of filling in an application nothing difficult . Its a rip off. Definately get PR in the UK . We didnt I was sponsored on a 457 Visa then PR then citizenship.

Its another waste of money to get sponsored then PR as its double money.

Certainly dont waste your money .......

Apply for PR and APRHA forms for registration in Australia.

Hope this helps.

Elaine from Dundee :-)

Hi, I'm also a nurse and doing the application by myself.