Laptop Help

debbie lawrence

Is anyone able to help, we are complete novices when it comes to our laptop and really shouldn't have relied on the kids so much back in the uk, but we bought a new laptop just before Christmas when we arrived here mainly for Skype and facebook but we can't now get the camera to work we can see our family but they can't see us and we really don't know what we are doing, does anyone know someone who would be able to help us (we're in West Lakes) just to have a look at it, the kids are desperate to see us and we can't wait for them to arrive in June, we're happy to take it anywhere and obviously pay but just not sure where to go. Any help gratefully received. Thanks Debbie and Mark

Guest Claire-n-tel

hi debbie!

what sort of laptop is it?

is it a built in camera or an add on webcam?

what program are you using to make the calls? ie skype etc?

Guest patsmb

Try opening SYPE - click on options then video settings -click on show that I have video to people in my contacts list you might have your camera set not to show

Guest ColinOz

Hi Debbie

Could you post the brand and model of your laptop?

also in some laptops you have to enable the webcam with a combination of keys, most of the time the button Fn + some key that has a camera icon.

Hope this helps :D

Guest Ross Dymond

HP ship laptops with a bunch of useless software, they are the worst for it. One of the program's is a HP Camera program allowing you to take stills and videos, the exact name escapes me. If this is running in the background it will steal use of the camera before Skype can get use of it.

make sure nothing like that is running in the background. Personally I hate windows 8, and would just install 7. But that's another convo entirely.

But anyways, if you have no luck, PM me and I'll arrange meeting you and sorting it. I ran a laptop/pc centre in the UK so I know what a pain these bundled HP systems can be!

Edited by Ross Dymond