Introduction and question about Henley Beach

Guest M1cha3la

Guest M1cha3la

Hey everyone,

This post has a duel purpose. Firstly hello :wubclub: I am a regular on PIO, but a newbie here. DH and I got our visa grant the beginning of May and are hoping to move to Oz mid 2015. We are focusing on Perth and Adelaide as where we would like to settle but it will come down to work ect ect :rolleyes:

Then, we have a reccie/validation trip booked for September with a week in each, so I was hoping you could maybe advise me on some good places to stay in Adelaide? I have been focusing in on Henley Beach, everything online sounds good about it, but it would be fab to hear some first hand reviews/recommendations.

Thanks xx

Hi Michaela,

Welcome to the forum - Henley Beach would be as good a place as any to check out Adelaide. It has good access to the beach and the city and has a good vibe. Just make sure you also go visit what's around the city on your reccie. The Adelaide Hills, Barossa and McLaren Vale are all an hour(ish) or so away from Henley beach and are well worth a visit. Depending on your budget for when you do move out here you may also want to check out the southern suburbs (Christies Beach, Noarlunga etc) where property prices/rentals are cheaper than places like Henley and with the new rail link and expressway, the city is (or will be) an easy commute. Anyway - whatever you decide, enjoy your stay, Adelaide is an amazing city!

NWM

We lived just back from Henley Beach in Lockleys and the area is fantastic in that it's near the CBD and right there on the beach.....we rented there for a year and had good time. The linear park also snakes through that area as is a lovely place for a cycle. We didn't settle there though because house prices are very high and we decided that being semi-rural was actually what we wanted. Check out Semaphore as well - older part of the city also on the coast and really nice.

Guest M1cha3la