New member.. Just to say Hi

ARose

Hi All,

I'm a new member to this forum.

I'm over here on a Working Holiday visa to be with family. 4 weeks in and I'm enjoying it so far, hoping to make it a permanent move.

I'm a qualified accountant from the UK and just starting the job search, although I think this could take a while. Any advice would be appreciated.

My only advice is to be patient.

That may be very good advice.

Welcome!

If you are enjoying your time here at this time of year you will love the warmer weather.

You are in a great part of the world but there's plenty to see and do throughout the city.

I would use your time here to try and network and meet people. A job would likely come through this route from someone in that field opening a door....

Hi, Ive recently moved to Adelaide from the UK too. I agree with the 'be patient' advice. Ive been searching for a job for 6 weeks now and havent found anything...yet. Trying not to let it get to me and making the most of city whilst I can. Good luck with the job search and have fun. Em

On a WHV it may be harder to secure employment in your chosen line of work. Mainly as a WHV is more intended for casual work, short term (the longest with one employer is 6 months) and not permanent. Yes some do manage to secure a job that leads to sponsorship but the WHV will have its limits for many. Its a short term visa, to work and travel in Aus.

I'm not sure if your profession is on the list, quite possibly, in which case you could be sponsored potentially, but that may not be plain sailing. If its not on the list you may be thwarted in trying to secure a different visa here on shore.