Going the opposite way :-)

MovingtoUK

Hi everyone :-)

Well, my hubby, small children and I are planning to move from Adelaide to England next year. Reasons being we have more family over there for the kids (hubby's dad immigrated), change of scenery and life experience, and travel opportunities. Biggest one however, is I am a teacher and the work is so scarce here that if I stay, I will never have a career.

We we lived and worked in the UK a few years ago and it was so easy to gain employment :-)

My question is, what is the cost of living like over there? Because it is astronomical here. Do u get more for your buck?

House prices/rent varys massively and as this is usually the biggest expense it will depend where you're planning on living as to how much income you'll then have for other things!

I think Gas/electric is more value for money in the UK and there's more choice in food shopping.

You don't have car rego but you do have tax and yearly MOTs and have to have insurance.

Childcare is expensive (everywhere!). Is there much difference in the wages here/there for a teacher? What does your husband do?

I don't think it's astronomical here. Not compared to the area we were living in in the UK. We are better off here for sure coming from the Bristol area of England.

Affodability in the UK, depends what part of it, how much you earn and so on. I think teachers are better paid here. Some parts of the UK are cheap to live but often salaries etc are less. It's all relative. Also things like public transport outside of the cities can be expensive and limited.

NHS is brilliant but being rapidly diminished and within a few years will be more like the Aus system I fear. Cars are cheaper to buy, fuel and MOT and tax, that costs each year. Household bills, council tax, all those things add up.