Hi there!!

KenZo

Hey there! My family and i will be migrating to Adelaide in the tail end of 2016. We are making our preparations as i post this thread. I have been reading various threads on this forum. Some good advise but some contradicting ones as well. I guess different strokes for different folks.

My wife and i have been working in IT advertising for the last 10 years. We have not secured any employment yet but are actively applying to see if we can nail down a job (highly unlikely but worth a try). We have an 11 year old daughter.

There are a couple of priorities in our mind.

(1) Getting a job - A full time one would be great. However a parttime/casual job will also do.

(2) School - Can anyone recommend a good public school? I read about Adelaide High School and Glenunga Int high School. Are they any good?

(3) Suburbs - Any nice family oriented suburbs to recommend? We will be renting for 6-12 months before we consider buying a place. We are looking at the $250-350 per week range.

We are anxious to start our lives in Adelaide and look forward to hearing your experiences. Cheers!

I'd think getting your child into either school will be tough, given the demand for places.

If your daughter starts Y8 at Adelaide HS, as in you are living in the zone before the start of the school year (and I would guess can prove a years lease) then I'd hope that would be enough. Otherwise the chances of getting in are slim. There are special entry programmes but your daughter would be facing lots of competition for a place and it would require a good standard in whatever it was to be in place already.